Author Topic: Help Please - Classic Movies  (Read 3678 times)

Offline addicted2dvd

• Forum Inventory
    • View Profile
Help Please - Classic Movies
« on: August 16, 2007, 03:27:56 PM »
I am fairly new to the classic movies.. used to be... not that long ago... that I wouldn't watch something made before 1980.  :bag: But I did see the error in my ways and started to see the wonders that the older movies movies actually had in store for me. But because of this my knowledge of the classics is extremely limited.

Several years ago there used to be a magazine called Total Movie & Entertainment and they offered a 40 movie (on 20 DVDs) boxset free for subscribing... I heard many subscribers never got this boxset... but I was one of the lucky ones that actually did get this set (although the cheap cardboard packaging was ruined).

Anyway... I figured this weekend.. Probably starting tomorrow (Friday) I would do a marathon of movies from this set. Of course I am expecting crap quality... but at least I will see what they consider classics (if not truly classics). But I need your help... as I said there is 40 movies in the set and there is just no way I can manage to watch all 40 movies in the weekend... 

So to all you classic lovers out there... which of the following movies should I be sure to watch this weekend for some great classic entertainment?
Note: I am a true horror lover... so I will definitely be seeing at least some of the horror ones  :P

The Movies include:

1. Battleship Potemkin
2. The General
3. Intolerance
4. Dr. Jekyll
5. Scrooge
6. Farewell to Arms
7. Cyrano
8. Road to Bali
9. AFrica Screams
10. At War With The Army
11. Pajama Game
12.  Dressed to Kill   
13.  Kennel Murder Case
14.  Dick Tracy Detective
15.  Dick Tracy Meets Gruesome
16.  Meet John Doe
17.  His Girl Friday
18.  The Stranger
19.  Beat the Devil
20.  Suddenly
21.  Angel and the Badman
22.  One Eyed Jacks
23.  Boy in the Plastic Bubble
24.  Cause for Alarm
25.  Sabotage