Author Topic: Help me choose computer speakers.  (Read 6185 times)

Offline Eric

• Intermediate Poster
    • View Profile
Help me choose computer speakers.
« on: October 22, 2011, 03:44:56 AM »
I know, with 25+ years as an I.T Professional I should be able to do this alone but here's the catch, I'm a business analyst and software developer, not a tech expert. 

This will be in my office and will be used seldomly for listening to music while programming or relaxing.  It may be used for gaming now and then and watch streaming television through my slingbox.  I figured that the gamers here would be able to help me answer these questions. 

My budget is about 100$CAD for this.

1: I want a good sound quality, obviously it doesn't have to be top quality because it's not my main system for watching movies but I still want it to sound good at a low or moderate level.  Do I need a quality sound card or will my onboard sound (realtek AD1986A) do the job ?

2: Is it worth it to buy digital speakers or would good analog speakers do the job ?

3: Should I invest into 5.1 ?  Go with 2.1 or even just good quality 2.0 speakers ?  I suppose that high quality stereo speakers is better than cheap 5.1.

Offline Jimmy

• Mega Heavy Poster
  • Yes this is me...
    • View Profile
Re: Help me choose computer speakers.
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2011, 03:55:10 AM »
Sorry can't help you... The two times I bought one it was the technician who told me what I need and what I can have with the ammount available :laugh:

We can buy a computer for 100$ now :stars:
Mine cost me 900$ 5 years ago and I don't count the upgrading since than :(

Offline Jimmy

• Mega Heavy Poster
  • Yes this is me...
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2011, 03:59:12 AM »
Just realize that I'm an idiot... what else is new :bag:
It's not a computer you want but a set of speaker... your price make more sense :laugh:

Offline Eric

• Intermediate Poster
    • View Profile